Dragon Tavern Forums

Go Back   Dragon Tavern Forums > Common Room > Roach Catchers

Old 07-03-2008, 06:35 PM
Experienced Adventurer

Question Items weight

It's not a bug but I'd like admins to explain why...

Items weight are ALWAYS 1, 2 or 10. Why nothing else? It's very easy to spot when you return to Tavern and get the list of all the items we were carrying.

If I was a programmer I guess I would have a table with every minimal items weigth then use a ramdom number generator between 1 and 3 to add to the item just found so it output more interesting weight values.

Thanks
Old 07-05-2008, 03:23 PM
Experienced Adventurer

I asked a simple question and yet no reply... let me show you.

Items weight are ALWAYS 1, 2 or 10.

Enough?
Old 07-06-2008, 01:53 PM
Dragon Tavern Overseer

Hi Rhialto!

You are right that they're constant. We don't really have anything against variability in weights, but didn't see it as a big priority putting that variation in. Perhaps something for down the track, to pretty up the sell output.

- DM

Old 07-07-2008, 01:39 PM
Experienced Adventurer

It would be nice to tell us out you got there? When you all sat down and thought about it and the one who implemented or programmed it never noticed this? Those game use so much random everywhere that it's funny that you forgot this time.
Old 07-08-2008, 11:01 AM
Administrator

It's done on purpose this way because the items are meant to represent different levels of taking up space. You know that you can carry 10 common items, 50 rare items or 100 exotics.

Think of it as a slot system.
Old 07-08-2008, 03:16 PM
Experienced Adventurer

All [C] items weight 10, [R] weight 2 and [E] weight 1. Ok for the slot system but will you improve on this? It sure does not look good.

You cannot go this way?

ItemWeight=INT(RND(1)*4)+BaseItemWeight

CarriedWeight=CarriedWeight+ItemWeight

Yes it is simple and your formula must be a little more complex but you get the idea...
Old 09-01-2009, 05:47 PM